Montgomery County Public Schools, Rockville, MD

Board of Education

Members & Subcommittees


Policies & Legislative Platform


Budget Information

Contact Us


About Us

Board of EducationDistinguished Service AwardsWinners → 2005

Distinguished Service Award Winners: 2005


Mark Drury and Shapiro & Duncan

For their tireless work to inform students, teachers, and administrators of the high-quality career opportunities provided by the industries of construction.

William Schlossenberg and The Gazette

For many contributions to education, including leading the successful mentoring program and newspaper club at Viers Mill Elementary School.

Community Individual

Art Billings

Community specialist with the City of Rockville , Department of Youth and Family Services, for his outstanding work with at-risk youth and their families.

Nguyen Minh Chau

For her community leadership and advocacy for children, particularly those with limited English proficiency, for nearly 20 years.

Community Group

The African Immigrant and Refugee Foundation

For using the Catching Up Program with students from Africa to ensure an effective transition into the American culture and education system.

Conquista tus Sueños (Realize Your Dreams)

For providing effective programs that help empower Latino parents to connect with their children's school and education.

Hospice Caring, Inc.

For their group bereavement program, the Good Grief Club, that helps children cope with grief and offers a sense of hope and comfort.

Individual Pioneer

William Porter

Founding principal of Mark Twain school and original assistant supervisor of special education, for his groundbreaking leadership as a special educator for more than half a century.

Michael Subin

County Council member and chair of the Councils Education Committee, for the many ways he has worked to promote a seamless delivery of services to support student learning and enhance the quality of life for children in Montgomery County.

MCPS Staff

Robert Barnes

Special education teacher at Eastern Middle School, for broadening the scope of after-school activities for students at the school with innovative programs and partnerships.

Nivea Berrios

For her effective and dedicated work as supervisor of the International Student Admissions Office, which has served more than 18,000 international students and their families over the past three years.

Virginia Bumblis

Whose work as a parent volunteer, instructional assistant, and paraeducator has served the community of New Hampshire Estates Elementary School for the past 35 years.

School Service Volunteer

Susan Bain

Parent Teacher Group (PTG) president, for her extraordinary efforts to plan and organize activities for the staff and students of Rock Terrace School.

David Lechner

PTA enrichment chairman, for encouraging a multitude of enrichment activities at Stedwick Elementary School to reinforce classroom instruction.

Updated June 29, 2006 | Maintained by Web Services | Content Manager Glenda Rose