Montgomery County Public Schools, Rockville, MD

Board of Education

Members & Subcommittees


Policies & Legislative Platform


Budget Information

Contact Us


About Us

Board of EducationDistinguished Service AwardsWinners → 2002

Distinguished Service Award Winners: 2002


Fitzgerald Auto Malls

For providing advice and support to the auto trades programs in MCPS and for generous contributions to the MCPS Educational Foundation.

Startec Global Communications

For its outstanding partnership with Carderock Springs Elementary School that has included donations of office furniture and computer accessories and expert advice on the use of technology in the classroom.

Community Individual

Esther P. Gelman

Former member of the County Council, for her many years as an advocate for Montgomery County Public Schools, including as a founding member of the MCPS Educational Foundation and current director of the foundation¡s Scholarship Committee.

John Lopez

Volunteer at Forest Knolls Elementary School and retired U.S.Army lieutenant colonel, for more than twenty years of service to the Forest Knolls school community that have made him a role model for students and adults alike.

Ruby A. Rubens

Former MCPS ombudsman, for her many years as an advocate for students and families and her key participation in initiatives to improve the academic achievement of African-American and Hispanic children.

Community Group

The City of Gaithersburg

For a strong working partnership with MCPS that has expanded and enriched opportunities for students within the Gaithersburg Cluster, including Character Counts!, a Gaithersburg Judy Center, and numerous extracurricular opportunities.


For a range of programs in schools and senior facilities that have involved more than 25,000 children, youth, and seniors in enriching intergenerational activities since 1986.

Mental Health Association of Montgomery County

For service to county students for more than 45 years, exemplified by the exceptional response to mental health needs in schools following the tragic events of September 11, 2001.

Individual Pioneer

Blair G. Ewing

Member of the County Council and former Board of Education member for 22 years, for nearly three decades of leadership and dedicated public service on behalf of the education of children in Montgomery County.

Joseph Howard

Former elementary school principal and director of Outdoor Education, for his vision in founding the Outdoor Education program and nurturing it for 40 years.

Owen Nichols

Former vice president for administration at Howard University, for his extensive work on behalf of students, including as a founder and first director of the African American Festival of Academic Excellence.

MCPS Staff

John F. Brooks, Jr

Building services manager at Walter Johnson High School, for his important role in ensuring the positive environment of the school during its numerous renovations and his 15 years of careful and caring work at the school.

Carol Burke

Staffing specialist in the Department of Human Resources, for her consistent ability to identify quality staff for MCPS and to work closely with school administration to make good matches between schools and teachers.

Richard Sprecher

World studies teacher at E. Brooke Lee Middle School, for his outstanding teaching skills, as well as numerous significant contributions outside the classroom such as tutoring students residing in a homeless shelter.

Updated June 29, 2006 | Maintained by Web Services | Content Manager Glenda Rose