APPROVED 24-1997 Rockville, Maryland June 17, 1997

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Tuesday, June 17, 1997, at 7:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present:

Mr. Reginald M. Felton, President in the Chair
Dr. Alan Cheung
Mr. Blair G. Ewing
Mrs. Beatrice B. Gordon
Mrs. Nancy J. King
Ms. Mona M. Signer
Ms. Rachel A. Prager
Ms. Debra Wheat, Student Board Member Elect
Dr. Paul L. Vance, Secretary/Treasurer

Absent: Ms. Ana Sol Gutiérrez

Re: **PUBLIC HEARING ON NORTHEAST CONSORTIUM BASE AREAS**

The following people appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Joyce Wright Miller and Richard Helgeson, Springbrook Cluster
- 2. Marilyn Politzer, Springbrook High School PTSA
- 3. Priscilla Davis, Francis Scott Key Middle School PTSA
- 4. Alice Rapport, White Oak Middle School PTSA
- 5. Robin Stamos, Broad Acres Elementary School PTA
- 6. Mary Lou Middleton-White, Burnt Mills Elementary School PTA
- 7. Mimi Morris, Cannon Road Elementary School PTA
- 8. Connie Rehman, Cresthaven Elementary School PTA
- 9. Terri McKenna, Dr. Charles R. Drew Elementary School PTA
- 10. Denise Brewer, Jackson Road Elementary School PTA
- 11. Eliot Pfanstiehl and Craig Carter, Stonegate Elementary School PTA
- 12. Marcia Harrington and Larry Checco, Westover Elementary School PTA
- 13. Debbie Camp and Don Spence, Paint Branch Cluster
- 14. Karen Freeman, Paint Branch High School PTSA
- 15. August Ghessie, Burtonsville Elementary School PTA
- 16. Steve Gerwin, Cloverly Elementary School PTA
- 17. Stewart Seal, Fairland Elementary School PTA
- 18. Anne Carson, Galway Elementary School PTA
- 19. Christopher Kolb, Greencastle Elementary School PTA
- 20. Franklin Jones, William T. Page Elementary School PTA

Board Minutes

- 21. Gail West, Sherwood Cluster
- 22. Ginny Coyle, William H. Farquhar Middle School PTSA
- 23. Jay Goldman, Brooke Grove Elementary School PTA
- 24. Bob Murphy, Sherwood Elementary School PTA
- 25. Stephanie Goodwin
- 25. Phil Kauffman
- 26. Toni Reynolds
- 27. Anne Benedict
- 28. Mary Beth Lerner
- 29. Betsy Wiley
- 30. Robert Flynn
- 31. Mary Howard
- 32. Doris Nickoles
- 33. Barney Evans
- 34. Carol Sattler
- 35. Mary Husman
- 36. Kevin F. Forbes
- 37. David Pena
- 38. Jack Rapport
- 39. Brian Perlman
- 40. Daryl Coyle
- 41. Barbara Orton
- 42. Alison Davis
- 43. Kathy Kohl
- 44. Marion Kirk
- 45. Jenny Linck
- 46. Sherry Davis
- 47. Robin Madden
- 48. Gregg Molek

The meeting was adjourned at 10:22 p.m.

PRESIDENT

SECRETARY