APPROVED 4-1997

Rockville, Maryland January 21, 1997

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Tuesday, January 21, 1997, at 7:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL	Present:	<ul> <li>Mr. Reginald Felton, President in the Chair</li> <li>Mr. Blair G. Ewing</li> <li>Mrs. Beatrice B. Gordon</li> <li>Ms. Ana Sol Gutiérrez</li> <li>Mrs. Nancy J. King</li> <li>Ms. Mona M. Signer</li> <li>Ms. Rachel A. Prager</li> </ul>
	Absent:	Dr. Alan Cheung Dr. Paul L. Vance, Secretary/Treasurer

## Re: **PUBLIC HEARING ON OPERATING BUDGET PROPOSALS FOR THE SCHOOL AND FISCAL YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 1998**

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Patty Sorenson, Watkins Mill Cluster
- 2. Richard Helgelson and Joyce Wright Miller, Springbrook Cluster
- 3. B.J. Mills and Gail West, Sherwood Cluster
- 4. Debbie Camp and Don Spence, Paint Branch Cluster
- 5. Beth Rydezewski and Linda Rigsby, Gaithersburg Cluster
- 6. Diane Cockrell, Damascus Cluster
- 7. Phyllis Peterson, Montgomery County PPW Association
- 8. Lois Loew and Penny Peterson, Montgomery County School Psychologists
- 9. Bob Astrove, Parents for Options in Special Education
- 10. Liz Roth, Special Education Advisory Committee
- 11. Joan Karasik, ARD Education Committee
- 12. Lorraine Rogstad, Montgomery County Collaboration Council for Children, Youth, and Families
- 13. Kate Savage, Title I
- 14. Audrey Prichard, Commission on Children and Youth
- 15. Win Fox and Carol Carter, Montgomery County Media Specialists Association
- 16. Jerry Heupel, The SOS Committee of Stephen Knolls
- 17. Brenda Souto, Alliance for the Mentally III Children & Adolescence Network
- 18. Yvonne Brown, AAP/CEC

**Board Minutes** 

- 19. Debbie Lyons, PISCES
- 20. Ricki Sabia, Parents of Children with Downs
- 21. Gerry Rosenberg, Coalition for Alternatives in Special Education
- 22. Roscoe Nix, African American Festival of Excellence
- 23. Russell C. Campbell, Sr., Alpha Phi Alpha
- 24. Linda Plummer, NAACP
- 25. Curtis Royster, Longview Site-based Management Group
- 26. John Roth, Autism Program Advisory
- 27. Gloria Boone, Adult Ed. ESOL
- 28. Lyda Astrove
- 29. Irene Herbert
- 30. Melanie Dimopoulos
- 31. Deborah Carter
- 32. Carolyn Rosson
- 33. Beth Borko
- 34. Haydee DePaula
- 35. Jim Zimmerman
- 36. Susanne Suchan
- 37. Bob Jones

## Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:15 p.m.

PRESIDENT

SECRETARY

PLV:gr