The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Wednesday, January 15, 1997, at 7:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mr. Reginald Felton, President

in the Chair Dr. Alan Cheung Mr. Blair G. Ewing

Mrs. Beatrice B. Gordon Ms. Ana Sol Gutiérrez Mrs. Nancy J. King Ms. Mona M. Signer Ms. Rachel A. Prager

Dr. Paul L. Vance, Secretary/Treasurer

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON OPERATING BUDGET PROPOSALS FOR THE SCHOOL AND FISCAL YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 1998

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Debbie Wheat and David Elseroad, MCR
- 2 Devon Jones, Olivia Norman, Doug Strobel, Visually Impaired Children's Group
- 3. Sharon Cox, MCCPTA
- 4. Pat O'Neal and Maureen Fox, Whitman Cluster
- 5. Daniel Robinson and Nick Farson, Wheaton Cluster
- 6. Barb Weiner and Tony Santangelo, Seneca Valley Cluster
- 7. Craig Faulk, Rockville Cluster
- 8. Jay Mandelbaum and Danny Winborne, Quince Orchard Cluster
- 9. Liz Smith, Poolesville Cluster
- 10. Kathy Parnell and Pam Howton, Magruder Cluster
- 11. Lesley Fried and Ellie Hagner, Walter Johnson Cluster
- 12. Catherine McCabe, Bethesda-Chevy Chase Cluster
- 13. Gerry May, Montgomery County Math Resource Teacher
- 14. David McIlwian and John Hoven, Gifted and Talented Association
- 15. Jim Buras, Montgomery County Music Educators
- 16. Christine Flores, Parents of Gifted Leaning Disabled, Inc.
- 17. Jerome Klodukowsky, Town of Poolesville Commissioner
- 18. Carla Satinsky, League of Women Voters
- 19. Bennett Connelly, Mary Lee Phelps, and Evelyn Kays-Battle, Health and Human Services Collaborative

- 20. Myrna Cardin, MANSAS (Special Education)
- 21. Dianna Souder, Arts Council of Montgomery County
- 22. Cindy Strobel and Jeffrey Barlow, VISA Board
- 23. Janice Garvey, VISA Alumni Association
- 24. Deborah Brown, National Federation of the Blind
- 25. Nolan Crabb, American Council of the Blind
- 26. Carol Sander
- 27. Judy Rasmassun
- 28. Kermit Burnett
- 29. Peter Sanderson-Milchenstein
- 30. Susan Ehrenspeck
- 31. Ira Dinitz
- 32. Stanley Jones

Re: **ADJOURNMENT**

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:00 p.m.

PRESIDENT		
SECRETARY		

PLV:gr