APPROVED 43-1996

Rockville, Maryland November 19, 1996

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Tuesday, November 19, 1996 at 7:40 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Ms. Ana Sol Gutiérrez, President in the Chair

> Dr. Alan Cheung Mr. Blair G. Ewing Mr. Reginald Felton Mrs. Beatrice B. Gordon Mrs. Nancy King Ms. Rachel Prager Ms. Mona Signer, Board Member-elect Dr. Paul L. Vance, Secretary/Treasurer

## Absent: Mr. Stephen Abrams

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON FY 1998 CAPITAL BUDGET AND THE FY 1998 TO FY 2003 CAPITAL

The public hearing was called to order at 7:40 p.m.

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Mayor W. Edward Bohrer, Jr., City of Gaithersburg
- 2. Demos Chrissos, Kentlands Homeowners Association
- 3. Joann Shimke, West Riding Civic Association
- 4. Bruce Deppa, Greater Darnestown Civic Association
- 5. Diane Quinn, Orchard Knolls Homeowners Association
- 6. Laura Reed, Qunice Orchard Knolls Civic Association
- 7. John Bosco, Highlands of Darnestown
- 8. Robert Holtzman, Harvest Hunt Homeowners Association
- 9. Don Johnson, Haddonfield Homeowners Association
- 10. Douglas Jimerson, Historic Seneca
- 11. Rick Kuckkahn, City of Rockville
- 12. Judy Frum, Longdraft Estates
- 13. Ken Mease, Mountain View Estates
- 14. Steve Wetzler, Ancient Oak Homeowners Association
- 15. Jill Lavin, Churchill 2000
- 16. Deborah Anderson, Orchard Place Homeowners Association
- 17. Pedro Alfonsa, Diamond Farms Homeowners Association
- 18. Fred Richmond, Fernshire Farms Homeowners Association

- 19. Denise Hammond, Potomac Mills Farm Homeowners Association
- 20. Sam McNamee, Hunters Trace Homeowners Association
- 21. Michael Veillette, Town of Poolesville
- 22. Howard Williamson, Pheasant Run
- 23. Diane Cockrell, Damascus Cluster Coordinator
- 24. Jan Leahey, Baker Middle School
- 25. Joel Cockrell, Lois P. Rockwell Elementary School
- 26. Linda Rigsby, Gaithersburg Cluster Coordinator
- 27. Sandy Steel, Washington Grove Elementary School
- 28. Lucie Campbell, Winston Churchill Cluster Coordinator
- 29. Liz Smith, Poolesville Cluster Coordinator
- 30. Patti Sorenson, Watkins Mill Cluster
- 31. Daniel Robinson, Wheaton Cluster Coordinator
- 32. Pat O'Neil, Walt Whitman Cluster Coordinator
- 33. Stan Judkowitz, Carderock Springs Elementary School
- 34. Karen Askin, Thomas S. Wootton Cluster Coordinator
- 35. Debbie Vivari, Thomas S. Wootton High School
- 36. Beth McIntosh, Lakewood Elementary School
- 37. Danny Winborne and Jay Mandelbaum, Quince Orchard Cluster Coordinators
- 38. Dana Rosenfeld and Barb Weiner, Seneca Valley Cluster Coordinators
- 39. Cathy Loyd, Ronald McNair Elementary School
- 40. Alan Goldberg
- 41. Diane Dorney
- 42. Andrea Maher
- 43. Melanie Wilson
- 44. Kitty Collins
- 45. Elizabeth Rudnic
- 46. Richard Arkin
- 47. Andrea Eaton
- 48. Lynn Ritterpusch
- 49. Yvonne Seeley
- 50. Ana O'Dwyer
- 51. Carol Paez
- 52. Wendy Elders

The hearing was adjourned at 11:55 p.m.

PRESIDENT

SECRETARY

PLV:gr