APPROVED 42-1996

Rockville, Maryland November 18, 1996

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Monday, November 18, 1996 at 7:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Ms. Ana Sol Gutiérrez, President

in the Chair
Dr. Alan Cheung
Mr. Blair G. Ewing
Mr. Reginald Felton
Mrs. Beatrice B. Gordon

Mrs. Nancy King Ms. Rachel Prager

Ms. Mona Signer, Board Member-elect Dr. Paul L. Vance, Secretary/Treasurer

Absent: Mr. Stephen Abrams

#indicates student vote does not count. Four votes needed for adoption.

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON FY 1998 CAPITAL BUDGET AND THE FY 1998 TO FY 2003 CAPITAL

The public hearing was called to order at 7:35 p.m.

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Marc Elrich, Councilmember, City of Takoma Park
- 2. Norm Gleichman, One Takoma
- 3. Paul Rankin, Citizens Concerned About Controlled Choice
- 4. Dave Eskenazi, Greater Olney Civic Association
- 5. Jerry Loux, MCCPTA
- 6. Bob Astrove, POSE Parents Options in Special Education
- 7. Neal Heyison, Lake Hallowell Home Owners Association
- 8. Alan Avera, Olney Chamber of Commerce
- 9. Robert Monsheimer, Northern Area Recreation Advisory Board
- 10. Diane Katalia, Bethesda-Chevy Chase Cluster Coordinator
- 11. Mary Ann Hess and Marilyn Shoenfeld, Montgomery Blair Cluster Coordinators
- 12. Sally Taber, Takoma Park Unification
- 13. Karen Chenoweth, Albert Einstein Cluster Coordinator
- 14. Marijke Velzeboer, Rock View Elementary School
- 15. Lisa Leandre, Glen Haven Elementary School
- 16. John Witler, Walter Johnson Cluster Coordinator
- 17. Pam Moomau, Kensington Parkwood Elementary School

- 18. Sara Pullen, John F. Kennedy Cluster Coordinator
- 19. Pam Howton, Zadok Magruder Cluster Coordinator
- 20. Kathy Parnell, Zadok Magruder High School
- 21. Gene Thirolf, Richard Montgomery Cluster Representative
- 22. Joe Gervasio, College Gardens Elementary School
- 23. Susan Sellers, Rockville Cluster Coordinator
- 24. Susan Borden, Earle B. Wood Middle School
- 25. Josh Rosenblatt, Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School
- 26. Kevin Byrne, Rock Creek Valley Elementary School
- 27. Don Spence and Debbie Camp, Paint Branch Cluster Coordinators
- 28. B. J. Mills and Gail West, Sherwood Cluster Coordinators
- 29. Helene Jennings, John Donaldson, and Norman Pruitt (Sherwood Cluster)
- 30. Joyce Wright Miller and Richard Helgeson, Springbrook Cluster Coordinators
- 31. Katy Consolino, Burnt Mills Elementary School
- 32. Lynn Lohman, Cannon Road Elementary School
- 33. Gary Aiken
- 34. Kenneth C. Jones
- 35. Poupak Asshar
- 36. Nancy Opiela

The	hearing	was	adjourned	at 11:07	p.m.
		mac	aajoannoa	at 11.07	P

PRESIDENT
OFODETA DV
SECRETARY

PLV:gr