APPROVED 35-1996

Rockville, Maryland September 30, 1996

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Monday, September 30, 1996, at 7:45 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Ms. Ana Sol Gutiérrez, President

in the Chair

Mr. Stephen Abrams
Dr. Alan Cheung
Mr. Blair G. Ewing
Mr. Reginald Felton
Mrs. Beatrice B. Gordon

Ms. Rachel Prager

Dr. Paul L. Vance, Secretary/Treasurer

Absent: Mrs. Nancy King

The meeting was called to order at 7:45 p.m.

The following officers and directors of the Montgomery County Association of Administrative and Supervisory Personnel were present:

- 1. Ed Shirley, President
- 2. Becky Newman, President-elect
- 3. Rosalva Rosas, Treasurer
- 4. Ed D'Aiutolo
- 5. Kim Statham
- 6. Jay Headman
- 7. Steve Bedford
- 8. Joy Odom
- 9. Eric Mills
- 10. Vera Torrence
- 11. Edye Miller, Executive Director
- 12. Fred Green
- 13. Rich Pottinger

Those present discussed:

- 1. the Future Search Conference outcomes, reactions and next steps;
- 2. identifying, training, and preparing for the next generation of leaders in administration and in the classroom;

- 3. revisions to the policies on discipline and student rights and responsibilities and practical considerations for the implementation process; and
- 4. an assessment of what has MCPS gained and what has MCPS lost with recent controversial Board policies, i.e., \$40 activity fee.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:40 p.m.

PRESIDENT		
SECRETARY		

PLV:gr