NUMBER: STATUS: PLACE: DATE: TEXT: APPROVED Rockville, Maryland 35-1991 May 23, 1991

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, May 23, 1991, at 8:05 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mr. Blair G. Ewing, President

in the Chair

Mrs. Frances Brenneman

Mr. David Chang
Dr. Alan Cheung
Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo
Mrs. Carol Fanconi
Ms. Ana Sol Gutierrez
Mrs. Catherine E. Hobbs

Absent: None

Others Present: Dr. Harry Pitt, Superintendent

Dr. Paul L. Vance, Deputy Superintendent

Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian

Mr. Shervin Pishevar, Board Member-elect

#indicates student vote does not count. Four votes are needed for adoption.

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON MINORITY
ACHIEVEMENT PLAN

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Gerry Johnson, Montgomery County Alliance of Black School Educators
- 2. Hanley J. Norment, NAACP, Montgomery County Branch
- 3. Keith Prouty, EdPac
- 4. Ben Marlin, Secondary School Administrators Association
- 5. Lois Bell, Elementary School Administrators Association
- 6. Hargrove Jones, Individual
- 7. Jean Mallon/Sharon Friedman, MCCPTA
- 8. Bart Landry, Blair High School PTSA
- 9. Connie Tonat, Title IX Gender Equity Committee
- 10. Charlotte Joseph, OSAE Advisory Committee
- 11. Valeria Ford, Alpha Kappa Alpha
- 12. Leroy Warren, Jr., NAACP
- 13. Jeanne Cooper, Rolling Terrace ES PTA
- 14. Lionel White, Einstein Cluster
- 15. Patrick Okura, Asian Pacific Heritage and Japanese Citizens League
- 16. Roscoe R. Nix, Individual

- 17. Owen Nichols, African American Festival of Academic Excellence
- 18. Mariaelisa Torres-Brannagan, Individual
- Martine Portee, Individual 19.
- Terrie Kerrigan, American Indian Support Committee 20.
- Emilio Perche Rivas, Spanish Speaking Community of Maryland 21.
- 22.
- Barbara Henry, Blair Cluster Frank Morris, Alpha Phi Alpha 23.
- Sheldon Fishman, Individual 24.
- 25. Brigitte Fortin, Individual
- Johnnie Taylor, Individual Ed Silverstein, Individual 26.
- 27.
- 28. Terrance Neal, Montgomery Gentlemen
- 29. Francine Walker, Individual
- 30. J. D. Speller and William Ellis, Banneker Black Honors and Math Society
- 31. Juanita Goudy, National Council of Negro Women
- 32. Wanda Ruffin, Individual
- 33. George Thomas, Olney Saturday School
- 34. Fred Hamburger, Individual
- 35. Nguyen Minh Chau, Organization of Pan Asian American Women

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:55 p.m.

PRESIDENT	
SECRETARY	

HP:mlw