APPROVED 2 - 1990

Rockville, Maryland January 4, 1990

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, January 4, 1990, at 7:35 p.m.

- Present: Dr. Robert E. Shoenberg, President ROLL CALL in the Chair Dr. James E. Cronin Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo Mr. Blair G. Ewing Mrs. Catherine E. Hobbs Mrs. Marilyn J. Praisner Ms. Alison Serino
  - Absent: Mr. Bruce A. Goldensohn
  - Others Present: Dr. Harry Pitt, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Paul L. Vance, Deputy Superintendent Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian
    - Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON RECOMMENDED PROPOSAL FOR CREATING A FOURTH ADMINISTRATIVE AREA AND REALIGNING SCHOOL AND OFFICE RESPONSIBILITIES

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Lee Ingram, B-CC Cluster
- 2. Joy Meyers, Head Start Policy Committee
- 3. Judy Borten, Advisory Committee to the Office of Special and Alternative Education
- 4. Jane Martin, Magruder and Wheaton Clusters
- 5. Linda Lang, Whitman Cluster
- 6. Carole Gelfeld, Walter Johnson Cluster
- 7. Gloria Martin-Pressman, MCCPTA
- 8. Lois Geller, Association for Retarded Citizens
- 9. Steve Loeb, MCCPTA Special Needs Committee 10. Lisa Baach, PISCES
- 11. Martin White, Montgomery County Community Action Board
- 12. Valeria Ford, Alpha Kappa Alpha
- 13. Michael Richman, Blair High School PTSA
- 14. Roscoe Nix, NAACP
- 15. Laura Wilkinson, Individual
- 16. Edgar Gonzalez, HOPE
- 17. Ana Sol Gutierrez, LULAC
- Riley Chung, ESOL Advisory Committee 18.
- 19. Phan Van Thinh, Maryland Vietnamese Mutual Association
- 20. Michael Lin, Organization of Chinese Americans
- Jerry Lynch, MCAASP 21.
- 22. Emilio Perche Rivas, Spanish Speaking Community of Maryland
- 23. Marjorie Johnson, MCACLD

## Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 10:05 p.m.

\_\_\_\_\_ PRESIDENT

\_\_\_\_\_

## SECRETARY

HP:mlw