Rockville, Maryland January 26, 1989

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, January 26, 1989, at 7:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Dr. James E. Cronin, President

in the Chair

Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo Mr. Blair G. Ewing Mr. Bruce A. Goldensohn

Mr. Chan Park

Mrs. Marilyn J. Praisner Dr. Robert E. Shoenberg

Absent: Mrs. Catherine E. Hobbs

Others Present: Dr. Harry Pitt, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Paul L. Vance, Deputy Superintendent

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON OPERATING BUDGET

PROPOSALS FOR THE SCHOOL AND FISCAL YEAR

ENDING JUNE 30, 1990

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Francine Walker, Chapter I Parents
- Judy Borten, Advisory Committee, Special and Alternative Education
- 3. Ralph Holtz, Montgomery County Youth Orchestra
- 4. Joanne Stoer, Montgomery County Art Educators Association
- 5. Teri Burdette, Bebe Krajewski, and Jeff Davidson, Montgomery County Music Teachers Association
- 6. Susan Calloway and Alan Freeman, Commission on Children and Youth
- 7. Sandra Yeager, Wood Acres PTA
- 8. Deborah Shepherd, TAPESTRY
- 9. Lee Ingram, B-CC HS PTSA
- 10. Diane Davies, Interrelated ARTS Program
- 11. Cheryl Sloane, Ritchie Park PTA
- 12. Michael Richman, CCAPS
- 13. Ken Roach, Head Start
- 14. Ed Andrews, Magruder HS PTSA
- 15. Donna Jobson, Montgomery County Math Teachers Association
- 16. Joan Burks, Math Resource Teachers
- 17. Bill Beane, Quince Orchard HS PTSA
- 18. Joel Abert, Mark Twain Faculty
- 19. Ellie Jesperson, Mark Twain Supporting Services
- 20. Terry Shoemaker, Ridgeview PTSA
- 21. Mona Levine, College Gardens PTA
- 22. Carly Rubinow, Wyngate PTA
- 23. Carolyn Snowden, Community Action Board
- 24. Janet Garrison and Janice Lindsay, MCCPTA, Area 3

- 25. Bea Gordon, Paint Branch Cluster
- 26. Karen Baker, Richard Montgomery HS PTSA
- 27. Nancy Rea, Jones Lane PTA
- 28. Joel Goozh, Phoenix Parent Group
- 29. Lee Gross, DuFief PTA
- 30. Henriette de Bruyn Kops, Bannockburn PTA
- 31. Don Weaver, Mill Creek Towne PTA
- 32. Beth Wittig, Cashell PTA
- 33. Gloria Mitchell, Cedar Grove PTA
- 34. Ron Brown, Redland MS PTA
- 35. Sandra Fritter, The Other Way
- 36. Cory Moore, Advisory Committee on Rights of Individuals with Handicaps
- 37. Wanda Notzon, Garrett Park PTA

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:25 p.m.

PRESIDENT

SECRETARY

HP:mlw