APPROVED Rockville, Maryland 51-1985 November 21, 1985

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, November 21, 1985, at 7:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Dr. Robert E. Shoenberg, President

in the Chair

Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo
Mr. Blair G. Ewing
Dr. Jeremiah Floyd
Mr. John D. Foubert
Mrs. Marilyn J. Praisner
Mrs. Mary Margaret Slye

Absent: Dr. James E. Cronin

County Executive: Dr. Daryl W. Shaw, representing Mr. Gilchrist

County Council: Mrs. Rose Crenca

Mr. Scott Fosler Mrs. Esther Gelman Mr. William Hanna Mr. Neal Potter Mr. David Scull

Others Present: Dr. Wilmer S. Cody, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian

Re: Announcements

Dr. Shoenberg announced that Dr. Cronin was teaching.

Re: Public Hearing on Capital Budget for FY 1987

The following individuals appeared before the Board, Council, and county executive:

- 1. Suzanne Bronheim, Bannockburn Elementary School PTA
- 2. Barbara Miller, individual
- 3. Marieanne Young, Cedar Grove Elementary School PTA
- 4. Maurice Galloway, New Hampshire Estates Elementary School PTA
- 5. Felix Diaz, Spanish Speaking Community of Maryland
- 6. Michael Richman and Richard Coppola, Rolling Terrace Elementary School PTA
- 7. Philip Cotterill, Indian Springs Citizens Association
- 8. Mary Lou Chappell, Fox Chapel Elementary School PTA
- 9. Dorothy Parise, Martin Luther King Junior High School PTSA
- 10. Janice Lindsay, Germantown Area School Planning
- 11. Linda Williams, Oak View Elementary School PTA
- 12. Bea Gordon, Paint Branch High School PTSA

- 13. Dale Majerle, Sligo-Branview Community Association
- 14. Phyllis Feldman, Kennedy High School PTSA
- 15. Dale Majerle (speaking for Daniel Craig), individual
- 16. Brent Paul, Diamond Elementary School PTA
- 17. Jean Mallon, MCCPTA, Area 3
- 18. William Beane, Upcounty Citizens' Advisory Board
- 19. Kay Davis, Blair Advisory Council
- 20. Tim O'Shea (speaking for Jean Jarrard), Gaithersburg Cluster
- 21. Carol Fanconi, Gaithersburg High School PTSA
- 22. Margaret Comings, Montgomery Village Junior High School PTSA
- 23. Marcia Haller, Whetstone Elementary School PTA
- 24. David Lynch, Gaithersburg Junior High School PTSA
- 25. Susan Armstrong, Laytonsville Elementary School PTA
- 26. Margo Hall, Cresthaven Elementary School PTA
- 27. Beth Rydzewski, Gaithersburg Elementary School PTA
- 28. Edward Rowland, Stedwick Elementary SChool PTA
- 29. Tim O'Shea, Area 3 Task Force
- 30. Kenneth Dretchen, Ridgeview Junior High School PTSA
- 31. John Wunderlich, Walter Johnson High School PTSA
- 32. Carol Perlmeter, Monocacy Elementary School PTA
- 33. David Fishback, Rosemary Hills Elementary School PTA
- 34. George Beckerman, Richard Montgomery High School PTSA
- 35. William Hillshafer, Fox Hills Green Community Association
- 36. John Hadidian, Long Branch Civic Association

Re: Adjournment

The president adjourned the meeting at 10:45 p.m.

Presiden	t
Secretar	У

WSC:msl