APPROVED Rockville, Maryland 9-1985 January 24, 1985 The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Wednesday, January 24, 1985, at 7:15 p.m. Present: Dr. James E. Cronin, Vice President in ROLL CALL the Chair Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo Miss Jacquie Duby Mr. Blair G. Ewing Dr. Jeremiah Floyd Mrs. Mary Margaret Slye Absent: Mrs. Marilyn J. Praisner Dr. Robert E. Shoenberg Others Present: Dr. Wilmer S. Cody, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent Dr. Robert S. Shaffner, Executive Assistant Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian Re: Announcement Dr. Cronin announced that Mrs. Praisner and Dr. Shoenberg could not be present because of previous commitments; however, they would read all the tesimony and listen to the tape of the meeting.

> Re: Public Hearing FY 1986 Operating Budget

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Keven Dwyer, National Association of School Pyschologists
- 2. Ann Sissala and Andrew Herscowitz, MCR and MCJC
- 3. Vicki Bowers, Richard Montgomery High PTSA
- 4. Jane Stern, Montgomery County Education Association
- 5. Nancy Dacek, MCCPTA
- 6. Bill Olmstead, Kennedy Cluster
- 7. Phyllis Feldman, Kennedy High PTSA
- 8. Nancy Winterton, Lee Intermediate PTA
- 9. Joy Liberti, Bel Pre Elementary PTA
- 10. Sue Goldstein, Counseling and Guidance Advisory Committee
- 11. Samuel Cushman, Sherwood Cluster
- 12. Sheldon Markofsky, Belmont Elementary PTA
- 13. Anne Summers, Greenwood Elementary PTA
- 14. Jane Sleman, Olney Elementary PTA
- 15. John Dean, Sherwood Elementary PTA
- 16. John Donaldson, Farquhar Middle PTA
- 17. Ann Yeamans, Sherwood High PTSA
- 18. Ellen Durigg, Einstein Cluster

- 19. Bill Wisner, Einstein High PTSA
- 20. Ben Hammar, Sligo Intermediate PTA
- 21. Barbara Hammack, Rock View Elementary PTA
- 22. Judith Treanor, Highland Elementary PTA
- 23. Neely Oplinger and Barbara Faigin, Woodlin Elementary PTA
- 24. Richard Whitney, Oakland Terrrace Elementary PTA
- 25. Margaret Hammar, Suburban Area Study Group
- 26. Nancy Floreen, Blair Advisory Council
- 27. Jean Narayanan, Takoma Park Junior PTSA
- 28. Kay Meek, Blair Cluster
- 29. Michael Richman, Rolling Terrace Elementary PTA
- 30. Beverly Soodak, Springbrook Cluster
- 31. Joanna Vitale, Springbrook High PTSA
- 32. Ruby Rubens, White Oak Intermediate PTSA
- 33. Marianne Kleiner, Westover Elementary PTA
- 34. Nancy Dworkin, Commission on Children and Youth
- 35. John Smith, Alpha Phi Alpha
- 36. Mary Ann Bowen and Cordie Goldstein, MCCPTA/Area 1
- 37. Cynda Wilcox, Individual
- 38. Vincent Foo, Montgomery County Council of Supporting Services Employees

Re: Adjournment

The vice president adjourned the meeting at 11:15 p.m.

Vice President

Secretary

WSC:mlw