APPROVED 8-1985 Rockville, Maryland January 23, 1985

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Wednesday, January 23, 1985, at 7 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Dr. James E. Cronin, Vice President in

the Chair

Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo Miss Jacquie Duby Mr. Blair G. Ewing Dr. Jeremiah Floyd

Mrs. Marilyn J. Praisner Mrs. Mary Margaret Slye

Absent: Dr. Robert E. Shoenberg

Miss Jacquie Duby

Others Present: Dr. Wilmer S. Cody, Superintendent of

Schools

Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent Dr. Robert S. Shaffner, Executive

Assistant

Re: Announcement

Dr. Cronin announced that Dr. Shoenberg had a previous commitment; however, he would read all of the testimony and listen to the tape of the meeting.

Re: Public Hearing on FY 1986 Operating Budget

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. David Lynch and Sonia Obereem, Gaithersburg Junior High School PTA
- 2. Brian Kildee, Gaithersburg High School PTSA
- 3. Carol Fanconi, Laytonsville Elementary PTA
- 4. Christine Moore, Gaithersburg Elementary PTA
- 5. Nancy Kutz, Community Action Board
- 6. Nick Schultz, Harmony Hills Elementary PTA
- 7. Martha Rosacker, Kensington Parkwood Elementary PTA
- 8. Margaret Kelley, Monocacy Elementary PTA
- 9. Edward Sokoloski and Janet Garrison, Poolesville Cluster
- 10. Joan Karasik, Montgomery County Association for Retarded Citizens
- 11. Gayle Pincus, Mental Health Association of Montgomery County
- 12. Janet Bykoski, Special Needs Committee, MCCPTA
- 13. Elliott Werner and Madeline Gupta, Beall Elementary PTA
- 14. Diane Dowd, Individual
- 15. Steven Rosen, Wayside Elementary PTA
- 16. Dirk Klaasesz, Taylor Learning Center
- 17. Jean Jarrard, Gaithersburg Cluster
- 18. Margie Comings, Montgomery Village Junior High PTSA

- 19. Brian O'Leary, Stedwick Elementary PTA
- 20. Marilyn Jasper, Whetstone Elementary PTA
- 21. Gail Henson, Watkins Mill Elementary PTA
- 22. Tim O'Shea, Individual
- 23. Wilbur Wingo, Individual
- 24. Irene Lawson, Chapter I
- 25. Kathy Leggett, Individual
- 26. Kay Holliday, Elementary Principals Association
- 27. Michael Richman, Concerned Citizens for the Arts in the Public Schools
- 28. Katherine Kelley, Individual
- 29. Alan Shapiro, Montgomery County Association for Children and Adults with Learning Disabilities
- 30. Diane Ippolito, Montgomery County Association of Administrative and Supervisory Personnel
- 31. Evelyn Ordman, Montgomery County Arts Council
- 32. Buffy Brownstein, Wyngate Elementary PTA
- 33. Marilyn Berger, Gifted and Talented Association
- 34. Marie Anderson, Advisory Committee for Gifted and Talented
- 35. Velma Buckner, PADI Advisory Committee
- 36. Marilyn Van Degrift, Gifted and Talented, Area 3
- 37. John Diggs, NAACP
- 38. Sylvia Rowe, Walt Whitman High School PTSA

Re: Adjournment

Vice President

Secretary

WSC:mlw