APPROVED Rockville, Maryland 52-1984 November 15, 1984

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, November 15, 1984, at 7:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Dr. Robert E. Shoenberg, Vice President

in the Chair Dr. James E. Cronin Mr. Blair G. Ewing

Absent: Miss Jacquie Duby

Dr. Jeremiah Floyd

Dr. Marian L. Greenblatt Mrs. Suzanne K. Peyser Mrs. Marilyn J. Praisner

County Executive: Dr. Daryl W. Shaw, representing Mr.

Gilchrist

County Council: Mrs. Esther Gelman, President

Mrs. Rose Crenca Mr. Scott Fosler Mr. Michael Gudis Mr. William Hanna Mr. Neal Potter Mr. David Scull

Others Present: Dr. Wilmer S. Cody, Superintendent of

Schools

Dr. Robert S. Shaffner, Executive

Assistant

Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo, Board Member-elect

Mrs. Mary Margaret Slye, Board

Member-elect

Re: Announcements

Dr. Shoenberg announced that Mrs. Praisner was out of town on business, but she had promised to read all of the testimony submitted.

Re: Public Hearing on Capital Budget for FY 1986

The following individuals appeared before the Board, Council, and county executive:

- 1. Senator Larry Levitan
- 2. Councilman John Tyner, City of Rockville
- 3. Delegate Gene Counihan
- 4. Margaret Comings, Montgomery Village Junior High School PTSA
- 5. Jean Jarrard, Gaithersburg Cluster

- 6. Tim O'Shea, individual
- 7. Marilyn Jasper, Whetstone Elementary School PTA
- 8. Brian O'Leary, Stedwick Elementary School PTA
- 9. Michael Richman and Pat Smith, Rolling Terrace Elementary PTA
- 10. Dianna Long, individual
- 11. Gail Henson, Watkins Mill Elementary School PTA
- 12. Sylvia Corn, individual
- 13. Ron Wohl, MCCPTA, Area 3
- 14. Mike Subin, Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce
- 15. Carol Fanconi, individual
- 16. Brian Kildee, Gaithersburg High School PTSA
- 17. Bob Prien, GASP
- 18. Rob Hoag, Farquhar Middle School PTA
- 19. Allan Shapiro, MCACLD
- 20. Vicki Bowers, Twinbrook Elementary School PTA
- 21. Marieanne Young, Cedar Grove Elementary School PTA
- 22. David Fishback, Rosemary Hills Elementary School PTA
- 23. Susan Armstrong, Laytonsville Elementary School PTA
- 24. Herbert Cantor, Burtonsville Elementary School PTA
- 25. Albert Shanefelter, Paint Branch High School PTSA
- 26. Jim Haber, individual
- 27. Sylvia Rowe, Walt Whitman PTSA
- 28. David Kaplan, Northwood Facility
- 29. Sharon Crowe, individual
- 30. Bob Eaton, individual
- 31. Dan Williams, individual
- 32. Dave Crowe, individual
- 33. David Lynch, Gaithersburg Junior High School PTA
- 34. Jane Stern, Montgomery County Education Association

Re: Adjournment

The vice president adjourned the meeting at 10:40 p.m.

Vice President

Secretary

WSC:mlw