Christopher Barclay, President Shirley Brandman, Vice President Laura Berthiaume Judith Docca Michael Durso Philip Kauffman Patricia O'Neill Alan Xie Jerry D. Weast, Superintendent

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AGENDA

850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617 www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/boe BOE@mcpsmd.org FACILITIES HEARING

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Education is to provide leadership and oversight for a high quality educational system with community-supported goals, policies, and resources committed to benefit our growing and diverse student population.

REVISED

Tuesday, March 15, 2011, 7:00 p.m.

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker's time, a yellow light will go on. The red light and buzzer signal indicate that the speaker's time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 20 copies of their testimony. If you have not sent your testimony to the Board Office, please give your copies to staff at the time of the speaker's presentation. The Board will take final action on Monday, March 28, 2010.

7:00 p.m. Wheaton High School:

Speaker: George Gadbois 5 minutes

Thomas Edison High School of Technology

Speaker: Theresa Defino 5 minutes

Board Questions

7:15 Individuals and Organizations (3 minutes)

- 1. Jahmas Hamilton, student
- 2. Harley Langenstein, student
- 3. Wendy Ayala, student
- 4. Russie Tran, student
- 5. Kenia Lobo, student
- 6. Tiara Woody, student
- 7. Lorenzo Choudhry, student
- 8. Taylor Lyles, student
- 9. Cynthia Hernandez
- 10. Karen Leggett, Transition Work Group
- 11. Phillip Gainous

Board Questions

- 12. Darlene Simmons, principal of RICA
- 13. Tony Edwards
- 14. Carlos Hamlin, principal of Thomas Edison High School of Technology
- 15. Dr. Rebecca Newman, president of MCAAP
- 16. Kevin Lowndes, principal of Wheaton High School
- 17. Jesse McGee
- 18. Julie Gross
- 19. Stanford Mackey
- 20. Joan Sabaka, Special Education Advisory Committee
- 21. Laura Swerdlin

Board Questions

- 22. Rose Alvarez, Greater Glenmont Citizens Association
- 23. Stanley Holcomb
- 24. Grant Shmelzer
- 25. Susan Squires
- 26. Susan Wittan
- 27. Elisia George
- 28. Marci Ponton
- 29. Robert Leyshon
- 30. Roberto Monroy
- 31. Lorena Vela

Board Questions

- 32. Paul Ethridge
- 33. Tom Jones
- 34. Camila Muñoz
- 35. Lisa Gerhardt
- 36. Candace Kattar, Identity
- 37. Jorge Duarte
- 38. Nhung Pham
- 39. Ivan Lesmez
- 40. Iris Garcia

Board Questions

- 41. Simeona Leon
- 42. Sara Raker
- 43. Fred Lowenbach
- 44. Dr. Carolyn Malstrom
- 45. Mark Drury
- 46. Renate Wood
- 47. Madeleine Wojciechowski
- 48. Ellen Yui

Board Questions

10:00 p.m. Adjournment

This agenda is available in an alternative format upon request, under the Americans with Disabilities Act, by contacting the Public Information Office at 301-279-3391 or 1-800-735-2258 (Maryland Relay). Individuals who need special accommodations in communicating with the Board should call 301-279-3617.