Christopher Barclay, President Shirley Brandman, Vice President Laura Berthiaume Judith Docca Michael Durso Philip Kauffman Patricia O'Neill Alan Xie Jerry D. Weast, Superintendent

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AGENDA

850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617 www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/boe BOE@mcpsmd.org OPERATING BUDGET HEARING

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Education is to provide leadership and oversight for a high quality educational system with community-supported goals, policies, and resources committed to benefit our growing and diverse student population.

Wednesday, January 19, 2011, 7:00 p.m.

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker's time, a yellow light will go on accompanied by a beep. The red light and buzzer signal that the speaker's time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 20 copies of their testimony. Please give these copies to staff (located at the right front of the auditorium) prior to the time of the speaker's presentation. The Board will have worksessions on the budget on January 26 and 27. Final adoption of the proposed budget is scheduled for February 8, 2011.

7:00 p.m.	Christina McCann, student	3 minutes
	Alex Abdun-Nabi, student	3 minutes
	Eric Rosenthal, student	3 minutes
	Victor Kyle, student	3 minutes
	Cecily Adams, parent	3 minutes
	Daniel Arias and Richard Yarrow, MCR/MCJC	5 minutes
	Montgomery County Civic Federation	5 minutes
	Robert Monsheimer, Montgomery County Taxpayers League	5 minutes
	NAACP Parents Council	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
7:45	Damascus Cluster: Lucy Lock	5 minutes
	Churchill Cluster: Geri Shapiro	5 minutes
	Richard Montgomery Cluster: Christopher Kelly	5 minutes
	Rockville Cluster: Aissa Sires	5 minutes
	Wootton Cluster: Rich Edelman	5 minutes
	Board Questions	

Board of Education January 19, 2011

8:15	Blair Cluster: Susan Fleck	5 minutes
	Einstein Cluster: Jean Claude Zenklusen	5 minutes
	Kennedy Cluster: Frances Frost	5 minutes
	Northwood Cluster: Stephanie Helsing	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
8:40	Wheaton Cluster: George Gadbois	5 minutes
	Bethesda-Chevy Chase Cluster: Joy White	5 minutes
	Walter Johnson Cluster: Jennifer Cope	5 minutes
	Whitman Cluster: Jean Schlesinger	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
9:05	Individuals (3 minutes each) and Organizations (5 minutes)	
	 Joyce Breiner, PTA President, Parkland Middle School Carole Edelstein Anne Lieberman Alysa Emden David Holdefer/Sharon O'Donnell, School Psychologists Association Liz Roth, Arc of Montgomery County Sandy Chambers Linda Krimm Dylan Presman Bob Astrove 	3 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes 5 minutes 5 minutes 5 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes
	Board Questions	
	11. Elizabeth Cullen 12. Betsy Johnson 13. Liz Bikakis 14. Adelia Varga 15. Anne Madeo 16. Robina Barlow 17. Tom Jacobson	3 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes
	Board Questions	

10:00 p.m.

Adjournment