WJ Academic Support Center

Rachel Wills, Resource Teacher
rachel.wills@walterjohnson.com
Mary Gahl, Administrative Assistant
mary.gahl@walterjohnson.com
Phone: 301-803-7140 | Fax: 301-571-6985

The Walter Johnson Academic Support Center (ASC) provides assistance to students with special needs. The Academic Support Center includes programs for Aspergers, GT/LD, Learning and Academic Disabilities, Learning for Independence and Resource.

The Academic Support Center is in Suite 159. Enter WJ through the Main Entrance and sign-in at the Main Office. Exit the Main Office, turn right and follow the hallway. Turn left when you reach the hallway intersection and the entrance to the Academic Support Center will be at the end of the hall on the left. All visitors to WJ MUST sign-in at the Main Office before proceeding to other parts of the building.

ASC Programs

Aspergers | GT/LD | Learning & Academic Disabilities |
Learning for Independence | Resource

The staff listed on this page work throughout the Academic Support Center. For information and staff specific to each program, click the "Program" links above. For an alphabetical list of all ASC staff visit the WJ Academic Staff Page

Occupational Therapist

Karla Forest
karla.forest@walterjohnson.com
301-803-7140

Psychologist

Amanda Hearn
amanda.hearn@walterjohnson.com
301-803-7146

Speech Pathologists

Kate Brownstein
kate.brownstein@walterjohnson.com 
301-803-7147
Amy Walker-Casey
amy.walker-casey@walterjohnson.com
301-803-7147

Transition Support Teachers

Vicki Goss
vicki.goss@walterjohnson.com
301-803-7140
Emilia O'Connor
emilia.oconnor@walterjohnson.com
301-803-7153

Vision Teacher

Adam Mills
adam.mills@walterjohnson.com
301-803-7140

ASC Paraeducators

The Academic Support Center's paraeducators play a vital role in support of the Center's teachers. Some paraeducators are permanently assigned to specific teachers or programs while others are used in multiple capacities. The paraeducators currently working at WJ are:

Jason Alexander Josephine Bacas Xenia Barrabeitg-Liens
Richard Carter Philip Corddry Susan Deford
Antonia Dentes Jean Doman Mike Flanigan
Kerry Foley Mona Friedman Janet Froom
Elizabeth Griffiths Stephanie Kahal Sean Morley
Phyllis O'Neill Elise Peer Deb Sarno
Rositsa Shtereva Kelley Solomon William "Joe" Spence
Maegan Spiegler Diana Sullivan Amy West
Rosie Wilson
This page is maintained by the Walter Johnson School's Web Team
Click here to log in