Social Studies

 

Social Studies Logo 

Mission

Our mission is to help create historically literate and well informed citizens of our global community who actively participate in a diverse democratic society. 

 

Mr McCamon's class

Pictured above: The Emerging Scholars visit a celebration of African dance.

Staff 

  • Mr. Andrew White: Social Studies Resource Teacher, Honors US History, AP US History, Andrew_White@mcpsmd.org  
  • Ms. Erica Gardes: US History, AVID US History, Erica_A_Gardes@mcpsmd.org  
  • Ms. Erin Hendricks: Honors US History, Jessica_E_Hendricks@mcpsmd.org 
  • Mr. Joe Jelen: Staff Development Teacher, Modern World History, Joseph_F_Jelen@mcpsmd.org 
  • Ms. Kim Lueck: AP World History, Honors Modern World History Kimberly_J_Lueck@mcpsmd.org  
  • Ms. Jamie Mahoney: AP World History, World History Jamie_N_Mahoney@mcpsmd.org  
  • Mr. Ryan McCamon: Emerging Scholars Program, US History, NSL Government, Ryan_M_McCamon@mcpsmd.org  
  • Mr. Stuart Miller: AP NSL Government, Honors NSL Government, Stuart_H_Miller@mcpsmd.org  
  • Mr. Carlos Montalvan: AP Psychology, Carlos_Montalvan@mcpsmd.org  
  • Ms. Amy Rose: Modern World History, US History, Amy_Rose@mcpsmd.org  
  • Mr. Lewis Tucker Schrumm III: Modern World History, Law Lewis_A_SchrummIII@mcpsmd.org  
  • Mr. Sam Silsbee: AP NSL Government, NSL Government, Comparative Religions Samuel_M_Silsbee@mcpsmd.org  
  • Mr. Richard Smith: NSL Government, Richard_J_Smith@mcpsmd.org  
  • Ms. Caitlin Street: AVID NSL Government, AP Psychology Caitlin_Street@mcpsmd.org  
  • Mr. Bryan Walker: US History, African American History Bryan_K_Walker@mcpsmd.org 
  • Ms. Jane Wright: NSL Government, Sociology Jane_M_Wright@mcpsmd.org 

 


 
  Course Sequence

 course sequence ss 

Elective Courses 

African American Studies 

  • Textbook that corresponds with the course. Click Here... 
  • Site for class field trip that explores contributes of African Americans in a variety of areas that relate to the African American experience in Maryland. Click Here...  
  • Site for class field trip which deals with recognizing different events and individuals in the African American community. Click Here...  
  • A book written by John Hope Franklin explaining the trials and tribulations of the African American experience here and abroad. Click Here...   

Comparative Religion 

  • An overview of the world’s major religions. Click Here...  
  • An objective religious fact checker which addresses misconceptions about the worlds religions.Click Here...  
  • The Encyclopedia Mythica: Encyclopedic entries about different  mythologies.Click Here... 

Law 

  • This is the companion site for the law textbook.  It contains quizzes, links, and other resources.Click Here...  
  • The State of Maryland Judiciary Page which describes the state court system.Click Here...  
  • Circuit Court of Montgomery County – information about the county judicial system.Click Here...  
  • Maryland’s Legal Code – search the actual statutes.Click Here...  

Psychology 

  • AP Psychology Course Homepage on AP Central.Click Here...  
  • The Society for Neuroscience’s Neuroscience Education Resources Virtual Encycloportal.Click Here...  
  •  Psychology – This is the companion site for the textbook.  It contains quizzes, links, and other resources.Click Here... 

Sociology 

  • This is the companion site for the textbook.  It contains quizzes, links, and other resources.Click Here... 
  • A blog focusing on current trends in sociology. Click Here... 

AP US History 

  • The AP US History textbook: This is the companion site for the textbook.  It contains quizzes, links, and other resources. Click Here... 

Links

 Mr McCamon's class 1  critical thinking, technology and discourse 

 

 

 

 

 


 
This site maintained by the Paint Branch HS web team
 
Click here to log in