Science, Technology and Engineering (STE)

Telephone: 301-649-8298

Vision Statement

As a community of science and technology educators at Northwood, we aim to support an education that teaches students to inquire, research, and gather knowledge from our surrounding environment while gaining tools and skills to become successful learners and thinkers.


Mission Statement

To encourage a motivating learning environment that develops and strengthens our scientific and technological thinking in order to achieve individual, community, and global success.


Staff Members

Name Classes Email
Ms. Karen Kraus
STE Resource Teacher
Forensic Science, Anatomy & Physiology, Chemistry Karen_M_Kraus@mcpsmd.org
Dr. Sharon Carlton
Technology Dept. Chair
Business, Personal Finance, Foundations of Technology Sharon_R_Carlton@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Kristen daCruz
TESS Academy Head
Biology Kristen_DaCruz@mcpsmd.org 
Mrs. Doretta Alford Chemistry Doretta_R_Alford@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Courtney Conklin AP Biology, Chemistry Courtney_Conklin@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Zebedee Ducre, Jr. Biology Zebedee_Ducre@mcpsmd.org  
Ms. Kirsten Frank Biology Mary_K_Frank@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Steven Karig Biology Steven_R_Karig@mcpsmd.org
Dr. Lori Kurth Chemistry, AP Chemistry Lori_A_Kurth@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Helene McLaughlin Physics, AP Physics, IAPS Helene_C_McLaughlin@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Paul Meyer Foundations of Computer Science, AP Computer Science Principles, AP Computer Programming Paul_J_Meyer@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Erol Miller Horticulture, Astronomy Erol_K_Miller@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Kelly Mills Biology Kelly_M_Mills@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Lloyd Shockley ESOL Biology, ESOL IAPS Lloyd_Shockley@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Henrique Vissotto Foundations of Technology  Henrique_Vissotto@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Elizabeth Wade Biology Elizabeth_J_Wade@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Max Wright Introduction to Engineering Design, Advanced Design Applications, Foundations of Technology  Max_D_Wright@mcpsmd.org