Mathematics

Telephone: 301-649-8279

Vision

Our math teachers are working closely with the students to provide them with an effective mathematical instruction program that will help them acquire the math skills and abilities to promote success in their college years and throughout their lives, both within and beyond school settings.


Staff Members

NAME POSITION EMAIL
Mr. David Lindsey Resource Teacher David_Lindsey@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Leor Baldinger Teacher Leor_S_Baldinger@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Amy Beerman Teacher Amy_J_Beerman@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Julie Brenner Teacher Julie_M_Brenner@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Danielle Carter Teacher Danielle_N_Carter@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Philip Chenier Teacher Philip_Chenier@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Allyn Crews Teacher Allyn_Crews@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Lisa DeMoya Teacher Lisa_J_DeMoya@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Matthew Feldman Teacher Matthew_L_Feldman@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Jerome Feucht Teacher Jerome_H_Feucht@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Eugenio Godoy Teacher Eugenio_C_Godoy@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Annabella Letona Teacher Annabella_Letona@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Shawn Thomas-Royster Teacher Shawn_R_Thomas-Royster@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Warren David Wilkerson Teacher Warren_D_Wilkerson@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Anna Wright Teacher Anna_E_Wright@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Angel Yee Teacher Angel_J_Yee@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Justin Yoon Teacher Justin_J_Yoon1@mcpsmd.org

Graphing Calculators

Calculators are necessary for the student to demonstrate mastery of the mathematics curriculum, beginning with Algebra 1. Students are encouraged to buy their own graphing calculators to use during Algebra 1 and subsequent mathematics courses.

If a student does not purchase a graphing calculator, the school will loan one for the school year. Schools may require a deposit on the graphing calculators they loan to students for the school year. The deposit may be up to 50% of the cost of the graphing calculator. The deposit will be returned to the student at the end of the school year as long as the calculator is returned in proper working condition.


AP Courses

AP exposure will provide students with a glimpse of the college classroom requirements. In mathematics, AP skills alignment is a common thread to enduring success in AP course such as AP Statistics and AP Calculus

To enhance these critical skills, the Math PLC will seek opportunities to conduct cooperative learning projects with vertically aligned courses. Students will work, share, and learn together to complete rigorous, real-world projects that incorporate critical math skills ranging from algebra, geometry, trigonometry, pre-calculus, statistics, and calculus. This will also serve as a constant reminder of the importance of establishing and maintaining a sound learning process (including attitude, conduct, work efforts, study skills, note-taking, and testing strategies) fostered by excellent fundamental skills.