World Languages

Telephone: 301-649-8292

The goal of the world languages program is to educate students in a language and culture in order to make them knowledgeable and active members of a global society. Students will learn to use world languages for meaningful communication in both spoken and written form.

Staff Members

Name Position Email and Bio
Ms. Brandy Reazer Resource Teacher Brandy_A_Reazer@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Luisa Chaney Teacher Luisa_F_Chaney@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Ana Cruz Teacher Ana_E_Cruz@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Maria Marilin Jefferson Teacher Maria_M_Jefferson@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Rachel Kahng Teacher Rachel_F_Kahng@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Sherry Lin Teacher Hsiu-Ling_S_Lin@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Tania Pacheco Teacher Tania_A_Pacheco@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Edgardo Sermeno Teacher Edgardo_Sermeno@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Ares Torres Teacher  Ares_T_Torres@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Daniel Warrington Teacher Daniel_Warrington@mcpsmd.org

Mission and Enduring Understandings

The world languages program emphasizes language as it is used in real-life situations that students are most likely to encounter. Through world language study, students develop sensitivity to the cultural and linguistic heritage of other groups, understand their influence on American culture, and become prepared to participate in a society characterized by linguistic and cultural diversity.

Enduring Understandings:

  • As the world moves towards a global community, it is increasingly important to be able to communicate in languages other than English.
  • It is important to understand the perspectives of a culture that generate its patterns of behavior, ways of life, worldviews, and contributions.
  • Proficiency in a world language is a vehicle to gaining knowledge that can only be acquired through that language and its culture.
  • The study of a world language enables students to develop insights into the nature of language and culture.
  • Learning a world language enables an individual to participate in multilingual communities.

World Language Courses

Northwood currently offers courses in Chinese, French, and Spanish, including Advanced Placement language courses for French and Spanish.

If students select a world language to fulfill the Maryland diploma requirements, it is recommended that the two world language credits be in the same language. World language courses must be taken in sequential order. The prerequisite for all courses, except for a beginning course (classified as 1A), is successful completion of the preceding course.


Interested in Traveling to Paris Next Spring Break?

Over spring break of 2017 Northwood students enjoyed a trip to Barcelona and Paris. Did you know Mr. Warrington organizes spring break trips annually? Due to interest in traveling to France by a majority of students, next year's trip will be a city stay in Paris. View the tour itinerary here: http://www.eftours.com/educational-tour/paris-city-stay. Contact Daniel_Warrington@mcpsmd.org with questions.