World Languages Department

Resource Teacher: Paula Peró
Phone: (301) 962-1041

Mission

The mission of the World Languages Department is to prepare students to be linguistically and culturally competent in languages other than English. The ability to communicate in a culturally appropriate manner with speakers of other languages is the key to success in the increasingly diverse global community of the 21st century. As students develop proficiency in world languages and an understanding of the underlying values and beliefs of other cultures, they gain the skills that are essential to meaningful communication.

Our goal is to for students to:

  • Demonstrate independence
  • Build strong content knowledge
  • Respond to the varying demands of audience, task, purpose, and discipline
  • Comprehend as well as critique
  • Value evidence
  • Use technology and digital media strategically and capably
  • Come to understand other perspectives and cultures

News

Staff List

NOTE: Staff e-mail addresses can be found in the Staff Directory.

Mary Cardoza
Mary_D_Cardoza@mcpsmd.org
  • Spanish 1
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 1
Claudia de León
Claudia_A_DeLeon@mcpsmd.org
  • Honors Spanish 4 & IB Spanish 4
  • IB Spanish 5 (SL)

 

Davina Duni
Davina_C_Duni@mcpsmd.org  
  • French 2
  • Honors French 4 & IB Japanese 4
  • IB French 6/7 & AP French Language & Culture
  • French Honor Society & French Club 
Simone Harris
Simone_Harris@mcpsmd.org
  • French 1
  • Honors French 3
  • IB French 5
  • French Honor Society & French Club
Nancy Hinchliffe
Nancy_Hinchliffe@mcpsmd.org
  • Spanish 2
  • Honors Spanish 3
I-Jiun Liu
I-Jiun_Liu@mcpsmd.org
  • Japanese 1
  • Japanese 2
  • Honors Japanese 3
  • Honors Japanese 4 & IB Japanese 4
Pilar Garcia Royuela
Pilar_GarciaRoyuela@mcpsmd.org
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 1
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 2
Paula Peró
Paula_Pero@mcpsmd.org
  • AP Spanish Language & Culture
  • AP Spanish Literature & Culture
  • IB Spanish 6 SL & HL
  • IB Spanish: Language & Literature (Bilingual Diploma)
  • World Languages Department Resource Teacher
  •  LASU Sponsor

Carlin Soler 

Carlin_P_Soler@mcpsmd.org  

  • Spanish 2
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 1
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 3  
Sara Salazar
Sara_E_Salazar@mcpsmd.org
  • Honors Spanish 3
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 2
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 3