Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

IMPORTANT MESSAGE: 12/15/2017 at 10:53 AM -- Refresh page to update message

Montgomery County Public Schools will remain open today, December 15, 2017. Dismissal and all activities will continue as scheduled.

MENSAJES DE EMERGENCIA: 12/15/2017, 10:53 AM -- Refresque la página para actualizar mensaje

Las Escuelas Públicas del Condado de Montgomery permanecerán abiertas hoy, viernes 15 de diciembre de 2017 en horario regular. Las actividades continuarán según programadas.


Springbrook High School Student Elected to Board of Education

April 25, 2002
A junior at Springbrook High School has been elected the new student member of the county Board of Education for the 2002-2003 school year.

Mihyar Alnifaidy was chosen by 70.35 percent of the secondary students who cast ballots in the April 24th election conducted by the Montgomery County Region of the Maryland Association of Student Councils (MCR). The overall voter turnout was 78.75 percent (56,900 students). Alnifaidy will begin his one-year term as the 25th member of the Board on the first of July.

His opponent, Alex Sellinger, is a student at Walt Whitman High School.

Alnifaidy has been a member of the Montgomery County Region of the Maryland Association of Student Councils, Student Government Association Representative, and president of his class during both his freshman and sophomore years. He has participated in a mentoring program called B.R.O.T.H.E.R.S. for the past three years and has been a member of his school’s football, lacrosse, and cross country teams.

Alnifaidy also attended Cresthaven and Burnt Mills elementary schools and Francis Scott Key Middle School.

The current student member of the Board of Education is Dustin Jeter, a senior at Seneca Valley High School.

<<Back to browse