Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

EMERGENCY MESSAGE: 1/17/2018 at 7:11 AM -- Refresh page to update message

Urgent Update: Due to unsafe road conditions affecting school transportation, Montgomery County Public Schools is now closing schools today, January 17, 2018. All school-sponsored and community-use activities in school buildings are canceled. Administrative offices are open on time. Day care programs in school buildings may remain open as scheduled.

MENSAJES DE EMERGENCIA: 1/17/2018, 7:11 AM -- Refresque la página para actualizar mensaje

Actualización urgente: debido a las condiciones de peligro en las carreteras que afectan los autobuses escolares, las Escuelas Públicas del Condado de Montgomery permanecerán cerradas hoy 17 de enero de 2018. Las oficinas administrativas abrirán en horario regular. Los programas de cuido en los edificios escolares podrán permanecer abiertos según su horario regular.

See Emergency Information


Twenty-One MCPS Students Win National Merit $2,500 Scholarships

May 19, 2016

Twenty-one Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students from seven different high schools have been awarded National Merit $2,500 Scholarships financed by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

The students are among 51 high school seniors in Maryland to be selected in the latest group of National Merit Scholarship Program recipients. The scholars were selected from a pool of more than 15,000 students, and will receive a one-time award of $2,500 for post-secondary education.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) was established in 1955 to honor scholastically talented youth and encourage academic excellence at all levels of education. The scholarships are privately funded by NMSC, and are underwritten by more than 400 corporate and college sponsors. Recipients are judged to have the strongest record of accomplishments and greatest potential for success in college. 

The MCPS recipients of the 2016 National Merit $2,500 scholarships are: 

Montgomery Blair

Angel Wen

Eleanor L. Harris

Raymond T. Lin

Anthony Li

Noah D. Levine

Ethan J. Holland

Eric M. Lu

Victoria C. Tsai 

Bethesda-Chevy Chase

Asha K. Dahiya 

Winston Churchill

Kevin Wang 


Ankita Sharma

Kenneth W. Jiang

Suriya Kandaswamy 

Richard Montgomery

Valencia Tonghe Fu

David L. Zhang

Daniel A. Feshbach

Anna Lavrentieva

Eileen Moudou

Dashiell C. Yeatts-Lonske 

Walt Whitman

Jacob L. Blitz 

Thomas S. Wootton

Prahlad D. Sarma


<<Back to browse