Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

EMERGENCY MESSAGE: 1/17/2018 at 7:11 AM -- Refresh page to update message

Urgent Update: Due to unsafe road conditions affecting school transportation, Montgomery County Public Schools is now closing schools today, January 17, 2018. All school-sponsored and community-use activities in school buildings are canceled. Administrative offices are open on time. Day care programs in school buildings may remain open as scheduled.

MENSAJES DE EMERGENCIA: 1/17/2018, 7:11 AM -- Refresque la página para actualizar mensaje

Actualización urgente: debido a las condiciones de peligro en las carreteras que afectan los autobuses escolares, las Escuelas Públicas del Condado de Montgomery permanecerán cerradas hoy 17 de enero de 2018. Las oficinas administrativas abrirán en horario regular. Los programas de cuido en los edificios escolares podrán permanecer abiertos según su horario regular.

See Emergency Information


Six MCPS Seniors Earn Corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships

April 24, 2013
Six Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) seniors from four high schools have been awarded corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships financed by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations.
The students are among 21 high school seniors in Maryland and 1,000 high school seniors nationwide to be selected as part of the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The scholars were selected from a pool of 16,000 students who advanced to the finalist level in the National Merit Scholarship competition and met the criteria of their scholarship sponsors.
Corporate sponsors provide National Merit Scholarships for finalists who are children of their employees, who reside in the communities they serve, or who plan to pursue college majors and careers the sponsor wishes to support.
The MCPS winners, their intended field of study, and sponsors are:

Montgomery Blair High School
Sharon Shuwan Chen, statistics, CSC

Winston Churchill High School
Neil G. Shekar, computer engineering, Northrop Grumman

Richard Montgomery High School
Srihari Devaraj, electrical engineering, CSC
Fiona V. Lam, mathematics, Mary E. Beyerle Trust
Ankit K. Sarkar, finance, Mary E. Beyerle Trust

Walt Whitman High School
Benjamin A. Bouvier, biochemistry, Lockheed Martin
So far, the Class of 2013 has had 17 students awarded scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Last week,
11 students were awarded National Achievement Scholarships.

Learn more about the National Merit Scholarship Program

<<Back to browse