Skip to main content Skip to footer site map


Administrative Appointments

June 13, 2000
The Board of Education today [Tuesday, June 13] approved the following adminstrative appointments:

Community Superintendent

* Dr. Frank H. Stetson, currently principal, Walter Johnson High School, as community superintendent for the Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Walter Johnson, Wheaton, and Walt Whitman clusters.

High School Principal

* Gaithersburg High School -- Stephen L. Bedford, currently principal, Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School, as principal.

Middle School Principals

* Takoma Park Middle School -- Linda L. Perie, currently assistant principal, Paint Branch High School, as principal.

* Westland Middle School -- Dr. Ursula A. Hermann, currently principal, Sequoia Junior High School, Kent, Washington, as principal.

Elementary School Principals

* Bells Mill Elementary School -- Jerri B. Oglesby, currently assistant principal, Georgian Forest Elementary School, as principal.

* Strawberry Knoll Elementary School -- E. Frank Kaplan, currently acting principal, Strawberry Knoll Elementary School, as principal.

Office of the Chief Operating Officer

* David F. Hedges, Jr., currently supervisor of budget services, Department of Management, Budget, and Planning, as executive assistant to the chief operating officer.

Office of Instruction and Program Development

* Bettye A. Clark, currently director, Title I Services, Kansas City, Kansas, as coordinator, Title I, Division of Early Childhood Services.

* Sharon H. Healy, currently curriculum coordinator, Special Education Instruction, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, as program supervisor, Pre-K-12 Special Education Instruction, Department of Curriculum and Instruction.

* Sophie J. Kowzun, currently supervisor, Reading/English Language Arts, Prince George's County Public Schools, as program supervisor, Pre-K-12 Reading, Department of Curriculum and Instruction.

* Edward C. Nolan, currently interdisciplinary resource teacher, Mathematics, Robert Frost Middle School, as program supervisor, Pre-K-12 Mathematics, Department of Curriculum and Instruction.

* Dr. Elizabeth L. Quinn, currently curriculum Supervisor, K-12, Christina School District, Newark, Delaware, as program supervisor, Pre-K-12 Mathematics, Department of Curriculum and Instruction.

* Susan P. Russell, currently acting supervisor of special education, Division of Programs and Services, as supervisor, Special Education, Division of Programs and Services.

* Michael J. Szesze, currently department head, K-12 Mathematics and Science, Stamford Public Schools, Connecticut, as program supervisor, Pre-K-12 Science, Department of Curriculum and Instruction.

<<Back to browse