Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

PUBLIC ANNOUNCEMENTS >  BROWSE

Large Crowd Urges Full Funding of School Budget at County Council Hearing

April 4, 2000
A standing-room only crowd of parents, principals, and school system staff filled the County Council auditorium last night [Monday, April 3] in support for the school system's operating budget. The largest crowd in recent memory gave visible and vocal encouragement to the cluster representatives of individual school PTA's and the president of MCCPTA -- all of whom urged full funding of the budget.

Two more hearings are scheduled when other significant testimony is being given:

* Wednesday, April 5, 7:30 p.m. -- MCEA testifies

* Thursday, April 6, 7:30 p.m. -- the Board of Education testifies, along with representatives from MCCSSE, MCAASP, ESAA and SSAA

Other staff, parent, community, and business leaders are also testifying on these nights and an additional hearing scheduled on Tuesday, April 4.

All of hearings will be held in the auditorium of the County Council Office Building located at 100 Maryland Avenue in Rockville. A public parking garage is located conveniently next door.

Individuals can write directly to the Montgomery County Council at the address above or by sending e-mail to county.council@co.mo.md.us.

Council members can also be reached individually at the following addresses.

District 1

Betty Ann Krahnke

E-mail: bettyann.krahnke@co.mo.md.us

District 2

Nancy Dacek

E-mail: nancy.dacek@co.mo.md.us

District 3

Philip M. Andrews

E-mail: phil.andrews@co.mo.md.us

District 4

Marilyn J. Praisner

E-mail: m.praisner@co.mo.md.us

District 5

Derick P. Berlage

E-mail: berlage@co.mo.md.us

At Large:

Blair G. Ewing

E-mail: councilmember.ewing@co.mo.md.us

Isiah Leggett

E-mail: isiah.leggett@co.mo.md.us

Steven Silverman

E-mail: steven.silverman@co.mo.md.us

Michael L. Subin, President

E-mail: michael.subin@co.mo.md.us

<<Back to browse