Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

EMERGENCY MESSAGE: 1/17/2018 at 7:11 AM -- Refresh page to update message

Urgent Update: Due to unsafe road conditions affecting school transportation, Montgomery County Public Schools is now closing schools today, January 17, 2018. All school-sponsored and community-use activities in school buildings are canceled. Administrative offices are open on time. Day care programs in school buildings may remain open as scheduled.

MENSAJES DE EMERGENCIA: 1/17/2018, 7:11 AM -- Refresque la página para actualizar mensaje

Actualización urgente: debido a las condiciones de peligro en las carreteras que afectan los autobuses escolares, las Escuelas Públicas del Condado de Montgomery permanecerán cerradas hoy 17 de enero de 2018. Las oficinas administrativas abrirán en horario regular. Los programas de cuido en los edificios escolares podrán permanecer abiertos según su horario regular.

See Emergency Information


Student Board Member Quratul-Ann Malik to Be Sworn In

July 1, 2008
Watkins Mill High School rising senior Quratul-Ann Malik will be sworn in as the 31st student member of the Board of Education at 7 p.m. this evening, July 1, at the Carver Educational Services Center. Malik will be sworn in by Clerk of the Court Loretta Knight.

Malik was chosen to serve on the Board by 56 percent of the secondary students who cast ballots in the April 30, 2008, election, conducted by the Montgomery County Region of the Maryland Association of Student Councils. The overall voter turnout was 85 percent (more than 64,000 students). All high schools and middle schools submitted election results, along with several special schools and alternative programs.

Malik has served as president of the Watkins Mill Class of 2009 and as parliamentarian of the Maryland Association of Student Councils and of the Montgomery County Region. She also has been Watkins Mill coordinator for the Montgomery County Student Parent Advisory Committee.

Malik attended Montgomery Village Middle School and Stedwick Elementary School. She will serve a one-year term as student member of the Board.

For more information, visit the link below.

<<Back to browse