School Calendars → 2015-2016 School Year

School Year Calendar: 2015-2016

CALENDAR UPDATE: On May 26, 2015, the Montgomery County Board of Education revised the 2015-2016 calendar to reflect the final date of the 2016 Presidential Primary in Maryland. Students will now be off on Thursday, March 24, 2016 (teacher work day) and Tuesday, April 26, 2016 (primary). Students will now have school on Monday, April 4, 2016 and Tuesday, April 5, 2016, which were initially days off for students.

Calendar in other formats

 
Date Event Note
Friday, July 3, 2015 Holiday - Independence Day Offices and schools closed
August 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 Professional days for teachers 
 
Monday, August 31   First day of school for students
Monday, September 7 Holiday - Labor Day Offices and schools closed
Monday, September 14   No school for students and teachers
Wednesday, September 23   No school for students and teachers
Friday, October 2   Early release for all students— planning/grades/interims
Friday, October 16   No school for students and teachers
Monday, November 2 Professional day for teachers No school for students
Wednesday, November 11   Early release days, K–8 parent conferences
Thursday November 12   Early release days, K–8 parent conferences
Wednesday, November 25   Early release, K–12
Thursday, November 26 and Friday November 27 Holidays - Thanksgiving  Offices and schools closed
December 24, 25, 28, 29, 30, and 31 Winter break No school for students and teachers
*Dec. 24 and 25 are holidays for employees
2016 
Friday, January 1, 2016 Holiday   - New Year’s Day Offices and schools closed
Monday, January 18 Holiday - Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Offices and schools closed
Monday, January 25 Professional day for teachers No school for students
Monday, February 15 Holiday - Presidents’ Day Offices and schools closed
Friday, February 26   Early release for all students—planning/grades/interims
Thursday, March 24 Teacher Work Day No school for students
March 25, 28, 29, 30, 31 and April 1 Spring break No school for students and teachers (Offices closed Mar. 25 and 28)
Tuesday, April 26 Holiday - Primary Election Day Offices and schools closed
Monday, May 30 Holiday - Memorial Day Offices and schools closed
Friday, June 17 Last day of school for students Early release, K–12
Monday, June 20 Professional day for teachers  



School Contingency Calendar, 2015–2016

If the school year should be disrupted by emergencies and schools are closed, the school year will be extended.
If schools are closed... The school year will be extended by...

  • 5 days - 1 day to June 20, 2016
  • 6 days - 2 days to June 20 and 21, 2016
  • 7 days - 3 days to June 20, 21, and 22, 2016
  • 8 days - 4 days to June 20, 21, 22, and 23, 2016
  • 9 days - 5 days to June 20, 21, 22, 23, and 24, 2016

Click here to log in