Montgomery County Public Schools, Rockville, MD

Board of EducationMeetings → May 27, 2008

Board of Education Meeting: May 27, 2008

Watch Meeting by Agenda Item

  • Click on agenda item
  • Click on Watch Now button to view video of that item
  • Summary will appear if available
  • To hide summary, click agenda item again

Full Agenda (PDF)

Approval of the Agenda
Resolutions: Interages Award; Champions for Children Awards; Asian American Education Association Scholars; George B. Thomas, Sr. Learning Academy, Inc. High Achievement Scholars

Margaret Cutler Interages Award: The Board recognized Larry Hartnett, a volunteer with Interages since 1990 and winner of the Margaret Cutler Interages Award for 2007. The Cutler Award honors an individual who has contributed to Interages' mission to build bridges across generations and cultures.

Champions for Children Awards : The Board recognized the winners of the 2007 Champions for Children awards. They are:

  • Dr. Edward Shirley Award for Excellence in Educational Administration and Supervision—Dr. Debra K. Mugge, principal of Argyle Middle School
  • Montgomery County Teacher of the Year—Christopher Orlando, advanced placement calculus teacher, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
  • Washington Post Distinguished Educational Leadership Award—Suzanne A. Maxey, principal of Seneca Valley High School
  • Washington Post Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award—Gwen D. McWhorter, math resource teacher, A. Mario Loiederman Middle School
  • 2008 Rookie Teacher of the Year—Sean P. Kelly, special education teacher, Clarksburg High School
  • SEIU Local 500 Supporting Services Employee of the Year—Christopher J. Lazor, building service worker, Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School
  • Volunteer Champion for Children—Montgomery Blair High School PTSA
  • Business Champion for Children—MCT Federal Credit Union

Recognition of Asian American Education Association Scholarship Recipients: The Board recognized six winners of $1,000 scholarships from the Asian American Education Association. The winners, students committed to becoming a teacher in an elementary or secondary school, are:

  • Brian Ting-Wei Chang—Montgomery Blair High School
  • Tiffany Ann Eng—Springbrook High School
  • Ariel La—Montgomery Blair High School
  • Jeong Hwa Lee—Thomas Wootton High School
  • Hyo Jin Lim—Sherwood High School
  • Becky Thorner—Thomas Wootton High School

The George B. Thomas, Sr. Learning Academy, Inc. High Achievement Scholarship Recipients: The Board recognized 13 winners of $1,000 scholarships from the George B. Thomas, Sr. Learning Academy, Inc. The awards, sponsored by Verizon Maryland, reward students who evidence high academic achievement and who have provided consistent, quality service to the Learning Academy.

The scholarship recipients are:

  • Daniel Ahn, John F. Kennedy High School
  • Jonathan Chan, Sherwood High School
  • Tania Chatterjee, Col. Zadok Magruder High School
  • Zachery Graves, Paint Branch High School
  • Vincent Ho, Sherwood High School
  • Brittany Hodges, Albert Einstein High School
  • Rais Khan, Kennedy High School
  • Tim Peng, Montgomery Blair High School
  • Kenneth Perez, Watkins Mill High School
  • Dakari Quimby, Sherwood High School
  • Hannah Schroeder, Sherwood High School
  • Cynthia Serpas, Magruder High School
  • Karidad Yitbarek, Kennedy High School
Public Comments
Board/Superintendent Comments
Consent Items
Human Resources

The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

  • Richard C. Johnstone, currently senior benefits manager, Sodexo, as director, Benefits Strategy and Vendor Relations, Department of Financial Services, Office of the Chief Operating Officer
  • Robert Sinclair, Jr., currently assistant principal, Redland Middle School, as principal, Redland Middle School
  • Adrienne L. Morrow, currently assistant principal, Rolling Terrace Elementary School, as principal, East Silver Spring Elementary School
  • Richard M. Jolles, currently acting coordinator, Student eLearning Program, Division of Career and Technology Education, as coordinator, Student eLearning Program, Division of Career and Technology Education
Update on Middle School Reform

Middle school students and staff demonstrated the kinds of learning experiences provided under the Middle School Reform Initiative. The initiative was designed to engage students and provide instruction that encourages students to develop skills needed in the 21st century. These skills include the ability to work in teams, solve complex problems, interpret information, communicate effectively, connect learning across disciplines, think strategically, and apply knowledge to real-life situations.

The reform initiative was originally scheduled as a three-year implementation model. Due to budgetary constraints, the phase-in schedule will be extended beyond the original time frame. Phase II of the program in 2008-2009 is expected to extend the number of schools with full implementation from five to 11. Additional schools would receive some of the important components of the initiative.

Board of Education Items

This meeting is streamed in Windows Media format.
Get Windows Media

Watch in stand-alone player

Technical problems: Contact Webmaster

Feedback: Tell us what you think

Updated June 4, 2008 | Maintained by Web Services