## Office of the Superintendent of Schools MONTGOMERY COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS Rockville, Maryland

June 14, 2012

## **MEMORANDUM**

To: Members of the Board of Education

From: Joshua P. Starr, Superintendent of Schools

Subject: Montgomery County Alliance of Black School Educators Scholarship Recipients

WHEREAS, The Montgomery County Alliance of Black School Educators recognized 25 Montgomery County Public Schools African American graduating seniors, one from each high school, who have excelled academically, served their communities, and demonstrated excellence; and

WHEREAS, The Montgomery County Alliance of Black School Educators honors distinguished scholars who are committed to leadership in their high schools and communities, are passionate about their education, and demonstrate a deliberate pursuit of academic excellence; and

WHEREAS, Montgomery County Public Schools celebrates and values the many contributions of its minority students to its schools and the community; and

WHEREAS, The Board of Education is proud that Montgomery County Public Schools recognizes the accomplishments of African American students; now therefore be it

Resolved, That on behalf of the superintendent of schools, staff, students, and parents of Montgomery County Public Schools, and the members of the Board of Education commend the winners of this year's Montgomery County Alliance of Black School Educators' Distinguished African American Scholar Awards:

Ariana Braganza from Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School Adrian Nelson from Montgomery Blair High School Derick Ansah from James Hubert Blake High School Christine Hildreth from Winston Churchill High School Mopewa Ogundipe from Clarksburg High School Adriena Wiley from Damascus High School Kidest Fikremariam from Albert Einstein High School Jordyn Chesley from Gaithersburg High School Modibo Camara from Walter Johnson High School Lauryn Cofer from John F. Kennedy High School Sydney Butler from Col. Zadok Magruder High School Brandon Sadur from Richard Montgomery High School Sennay Ghenbot from Northwest High School Tinsae Gebriel from Northwood High School Ryan Anderson from Paint Branch High School Tishina Tittley from Poolesville High School Monique-Agnes Ladeji from Quince Orchard High School Dina Yared from Rockville High School Ryan Huggins from Seneca Valley High School Amanda Harrington from Sherwood High School Faven Mesfin from Springbrook High School Marsha Richard from Watkins Mill High School Gabrielle Van Horn from Wheaton High School Darienne Madlala from Walt Whitman High School Audrey Nankobogo from Thomas S. Wootton High School

JPS:jc